Diabetes: A Family Matter

State and National Resources

Appalachian Resources

Information about the 13 states and 420 counties that comprise the Appalachian region can be found at this site. You will find state information and some county information. If you desire to contribute other specific information about the Appalachian community where you live, you can reach us through the Contact Us site. If information is submitted for inclusion in this website, please be as specific as possible in what you provide and be sure to supply correct and complete website information.

The Appalachian Regional Commission's unique structure is designed to ensure an active federal-state partnership. There are 14 Commission members: the governors of the 13 Appalachian states and a federal co-chair. The federal co-chair is appointed by the president and is subject to Senate confirmation. Each year the 13 governors elect one of their number to serve as states' co-chair of the Commission.

Each governor appoints an alternate who oversees the state's ARC program and serves as the state-level contact for those seeking ARC assistance. The states' interests at ARC/Washington are handled by the states' Washington representative, who is hired by the states.

Grassroots participation is provided through local development districts, multicounty agencies with boards made up of elected officials, businesspeople, and other local leaders.

The Commission staff is headed by an executive director. The staff comprises about 50 people, most of whom serve as program and financial analysts and researchers. The staff implements the program and policies determined by the federal-state partners. The Commission's administrative costs are shared equally by the federal and state governments. The Commission's office is located in Washington, D.C.; there are no field offices.

Resources By State

Click on the State name to locate related resources.

Appalachian Regional Commission

Appalachian Regional Commission 1666 Connecticut Avenue, NW Suite 700 Washington, DC 20009-1068 202-884-7700 info@arc.gov Regional Program Operations Henry King, Director 202-884-7779 hking@arc.gov

Appalachian Health Policy Advisory Council (AHPAC) Lyle B. Snider, Ph.D., PLLC Big Sandy Regional Public Health Epidemiologist Headwaters Health Consulting and Analysis 224 Eversole Street Hazard, KY 41701 (606) 436-8860

Figure 1: ARC-Designated Distressed Counties, Fiscal Year 2009

Alabama (2)
  • Hale
  • Macon
Kentucky (38)
  • Bath
  • Bell
  • Breathitt
  • Carter
  • Casey
  • Clay
  • Clinton
  • Cumberland
  • Elliott
  • Estill
  • Floyd
  • Harlan
  • Hart
  • Jackson
  • Johnson
  • Knott
  • Knox
  • Lawrence
  • Lee
  • Leslie
  • Letcher
  • Lewis
  • Lincoln
  • Magoffin
  • Martin
  • McCreary
  • Menifee
  • Monroe
  • Morgan
  • Owsley
  • Perry
  • Powell
  • Robertson
  • Rockcastle
  • Russell
  • Wayne
  • Whitley
  • Wolfe
Mississippi (12)
  • Benton
  • Chickasaw
  • Choctaw
  • Clay
  • Kemper
  • Marshall
  • Montgomery
  • Noxubee
  • Panola
  • Webster
  • Winston
  • Yalobusha
Ohio (6)
  • Athens
  • Meigs
  • Monroe
  • Morgan
  • Pike
  • Vinton
Pennsylvania (1)
  • Forest
Tennessee (8)
  • Clay
  • Cocke
  • Fentress
  • Grundy
  • Hancock
  • Johnson
  • Pickett
  • Scott